Young Georgia Authors

The purpose of the Young Georgia Authors (YGA) writing competition is to encourage students to develop enthusiasm for and expertise in their writing, to provide a context to celebrate their writing successes, and to recognize student achievement in arts and academics.

This prestigious competition has been engaging Georgia students for more than two decades and is open to any student currently enrolled in Georgia public schools, grades K -12. The competition is sponsored by the Georgia Language Arts Supervisors (GLAS) and the Georgia RESA Network with support from the Georgia Department of Education.


1st place winners will be recognized and presented medals at the March Board of Education meeting, and their winning entries were submitted to the region competition.


Seminole County Middle School Winners:

6th Grade: 1st place-Mya Vickers, 2nd place-AnnaKate Kirkland, 3rd place-Ellis Denham

7th Grade: 1st place-Za’Kari Henderson, 2nd place-Heath Baumgardner, 3rd place-Landon Thompson

8th Grade: 1st place-Jillian Johnson, 2nd place-Hope Humphries, 3rd place-Layla Dixon


Seminole County High School Winners:

9th Grade: 1st place-Gabby Parker, 2nd place-Landon Kirkland, 3rd place-Kerionna Moore

10th Grade: 1st place-Kennedy Williams, 2nd place-Lillie Hornsby

11th Grade: 1st place-Will Pace, 2nd place-Cleve Cofty, 3rd place-Daisy Camina

12th Grade: 1st place-Lacey Sims, 2nd place-Gracen Kirkland, 3rd place-Breanna Fletcher